PAWS Announce New Self-Titled Album

Posted by

PAWS will release their new self-titled album on October 27th.

The much-loved Scottish band were last heard of in 2019, with their album ‘Your Church On My Bonfire’ gaining widespread plaudits. The pandemic separated core duo Phillip Jon Taylor and Joshua Swinney – Phillip settled into life in the Scottish Highlands, focussing on visual art and solo work, while Joshua remained in London as a chef.

Reconvening last year, their essential chemistry quickly rose to the surface. Working with alacrity, PAWS pieced together a brand new album, using Phillip’s home studio in a Highland croft as a base for their recording endeavours.

The band’s new self-titled album lands on October 27th via Ernest Jenning Record Co. and their own Wish Fulfillment Press. Available digitally and on evergreen colored vinyl, ‘PAWS’ will also be released as a deluxe LP with a 28 page zine; there are also CD and cassette options. Order it online.

New song ‘Disenchanted’ leads from the front, an alt-rock scorcher that leans on the band’s roots. The drums erupt out of the traps, the bass line spasm shrieking beneath Taylor’s vocal, which pleads: “What and who are we as human beings?” 

“That was the first song we wrote and recorded for the album,” Phillip explains. “Josh was visiting and we spent all weekend chilling and catching up. Then a few hours before he had to head south again, we just decided to have a quick jam. I played bass and because I have my wee studio set up to record, we just naturally structured a song and tracked it really quickly. It was really liberating.”

Out now, you can catch PAWS at Edinburgh’s Connect Festival on August 26th; they hit London’s Seabright Arms on December 13th.

Check out ‘Disenchanted’ below.

[embedded content]


  1. Helen Back
  2. Plans
  3. Uncertain
  4. One Nation Under DOG
  5. Unfiltered
  6. Sound Aye No Bother
  7. Elemental Attributes
  8. Starf___ers
  9. S.A.H.D
  10. Disenchanted

Photo Credit: Nicky Murray