World Rejoice! King Creosote Returns!

Posted by

King Creosote will release new album ‘I DES’ on November 3rd.

The new album is the Scottish songwriter’s first in seven years, the longest gap in his discography to date. Having founded the remarkable, era-defining Fence imprint, King Creosote has released on a slew of labels, including a lengthy collaboration with Domino – who released his wonderful Mercury nominated LP ‘From Scotland, With Love’.

Out on November 3rd, new album ‘I DES’ was crafted alongside multi-instrumentalist and co-producer Derek O’Neill aka Des Lawson of Blantyre. Featuring 10 new songs, the LP will be accompanied by a solo acoustic run in November, alongside a full band show at London’s EartH on November 9th.

The album is trailed by beautifully absorbing new song ‘Blue Marbled Elm Trees’. Online now, it opens with the wheeze of an accordion, before storming into a wonderfully fully-fleshed arrangement.

King Creosote’s voice has rarely sounded better, a moment of quiet, radiant joy – “I had the best time laughing with my girls / I had the best life offered up / By this blue marble or any alien world.” 

Reuben Sutherland directs the video, which you can check out below.

[embedded content]

1.     It’s Sin That’s Got Its Hold Upon Us  
2.     Blue Marbled Elm Trees  
3.     Burial Bleak  
4.     Dust  
5.     Walter de la Nightmare  
6.     Susie Mullen  
7.     Love is a Curse  
8.     Ides  
9.     Please Come Back I Will Listen, I Will Behave, I Will Toe The Line  
10.  Drone In B# 

Photo Credit: Calum Gordon