Enemy Radio Comes Out Swinging With 'Loud Is Not Enough' Album

Posted by

Shortly after Chuck D dropped a bombshell about the future of Public Enemy, his group Enemy Radio — Chuck, DJ Lord, Jahi and the S1Ws — dropped a new album called Loud Is Not Enough. During a recent interview with HipHopDX, the P.E. frontman talked about the title of the album.

“There’s a lot of people pumping up the volume without saying shit,” he explained. “When style has been over substance for far too long, especially if you 30 and over and you’re spitting man, it’s like yo man, really?’ This is about entertainment.

Public Enemy’s Chuck D & Flavor Flav Blast April Fool’s Day

“I come from a time when there was better entertainers — from Bob Marley to Gladys Knight and the Pips. They were better entertainers, better songwriters, gave better performances. They said some shit that made you think that you could sit with the rest of your life.”

Comprised of 10 tracks, Loud Is Not Enough features the inaugural single “Food Is A Machine Gun,” which arrived on Thursday (March 31).

“Bob Marley is really what Enemy Radio is about,” Chuck explained to DX. “It goes back to the reggae, toasting from Jamaica. Enemy Radio is the political MC/DJ sound system of Public Enemy. It’s an element of Public Enemy. It comes out of Public Enemy. If we want to do a benefit or a protest or whatever — Flavor might not be there, so we developed that out. This record is produced by David ‘C-Doc’ Snyder, who’s a Renaissance, wunderkind maestro.” 

Flavor Flav was kicked out of Public Enemy last month but his dismissal evolved into the “hoax that ain’t no joke,” as Chuck described it. Flav is currently in the lab working on the upcoming Public Enemy record expected to arrive in June.

In the meantime, check out the Loud Is Not Enough album stream, cover art and tracklist below.

  1. 2020
  2. STD (Slavery Transmitted Disease)
  3. Born Woke
  4. Food As A Machine Gun
  5. Man Listen
  6. Last Stand Caravan
  7. Goodnight Lucifer
  8. Same God
  9. Lock Your Wheels
  10. The Kids Ain’t Alright